School Advisory Council

Established during the 2011-12 school year, the School Advisory Council is a group of parents selected by the President and Principals to serve in an advisory capacity to them on matters concerning the school. The Council does not have any decision-making authority, but their role in advising the President and Principals is important in informing the decisions they make.

Parents interested in being a part of the School Advisory Council are encouraged to read the By-laws and Code of Ethics (linked to below) governing it to find out full details of how the group functions. All prospective members must submit an application to be considered for the Council. Members are chosen so that both Divisions are equally represented on the Council. The application process generally takes place over the summer with the details of the process being communicated to parents via the Red & White parent email newsletter.

The community is invited to communicate with the Council through the Communications Office:

SAC Membership Application Process

The application process for the 2017-18 school year has closed. The application process for the Council generally opens in mid-July and closes shortly after the school year begins. 

Thank you for your interest in the School Advisory Council. 

School Advisory Meeting Schedule

Meetings are generally held monthly at 4:00 pm from September until May in the Houlihan Conference Room in the Girls Division. The meeting schedule for 2017-18 is as follows:

  • September 13
  • October 18
  • November 8
  • January 10
  • February 7
  • March 14
  • April 11
  • May 9

School Advisory Council Documents


This document outlines the purpose, expectations and general operations of the School Advisory Council.

Code of Ethics

This document delineates the principles of conduct which members of the School Advisory Council agree to follow. 

Activity Summaries

Here are summaries from each year of the Council of the topics addressed during that school year.

2016-17 Yearend Activity Summary 
2015-16 Yearend Activity Summary 

2014-15 Yearend Activity Summary 
2013-14 Yearend Activity Summary 
2012-13 Yearend Activity Summary 
2011-12 Yearend Activity Summary

School Advisory Council Members

The following people will continue as members of the School Advisory Council for the 2017-18 school year. They are listed along with their their student affiliation(s).

  • John Anderson (GD '20, hopeful GD '22)
  • Suzanne Belibi (GD '19)
  • Eric Brown (BD '16, GD '18, hopeful GD '23)
  • Virginia Buege (BD '19, hopeful BD '25)
  • Amy DeColibus (BD '17, BD '19, GD '21)
  • Marina Heusch (BD '18, GD '20, hopeful GD '22, hopeful BD '25)
  • Tara Joseph-Labrie (GD '13, BD '20) - Vice Chair
  • Tom Kurtz (BD '20, hopeful BD '23)
  • Lucy O'Shaughnessy (GD '14, GD '19, GD '19) - Liaison to the Education & Student Life Committee
  • Kelly Owens (GD '16, GD '19)
  • Julia Walsh (BD '19, BD '19, BD '20) - Secretary
  • Thomas Wheeler (BD '18) - Chair
  • Bill Woodward (BD '20, hopeful GD '24)
  • Marc Zarlengo '96 (BD '19, GD '21, hopeful GD '31)
  • Patrick Zoellner '79 (BD '16, BD '19, BD '19)

Our thanks to Jane Clawson, Lori Finch, Lisa Goodwin, Maureen Hayes, Anni Thrasher and Patrick von Tscharner who completed their terms as members of the School Advisory Council with the end of the 2016-17 school year.